Monday, January 17, 2022

Sudan Tribune

Plural news and views on Sudan

Sudan’s Lakes & Western Bahr el Ghazal states ministers sowrn in

By Manyang Mayom

June 27, 2010 (RUMBEK) – Lakes state’s newly appointed ministers and advisors have taken oath of office before the elected governor, Chol Tong Mayay.
14 Ministers and 6 advisors who were recently appointed onWednesday were sworn in Friday at Lakes state Secretariat General before the governor and the State Assembly Speaker, John Marik Makur.

Advisors taking oath in Lakes state (ST/ Manyang Mayom)
Advisors taking oath in Lakes state (ST/ Manyang Mayom)
However, the composition of the formation of Lakes state new cabinet was criticized by some in the public.

In his response governor Chol Tong told the crowd of people at the occasion that it was not easy for him to choose the cabinet, adding that he was aware that not everyone approved of his choices of ministers and advisors he had appointed.

He however expressed confidence in the ministers, adding that they were fitting in his eyes because he named them after making extensive consultations.

The governor urged those who feel left out to understand and accept the situation, adding that there will be chances in the future. The governor urged the ministers to serve the public, reminding them that the people of Lakes state are awaiting for their services.

On his part, Lakes state Assembly Speaker, John Marik Makur, urged the ministers to respect the state interim constitution and to cooperate with the three arms of government, namely, the legislature, the judiciary and the executive. The speaker further urged the cabinet to serve the public through good governance.

Western Bahr el Ghazal government formed

In a separate news report, the Western Bahr el Ghazal state’s newly appointed nine (9) ministers and six (6) advisors also took oath of office on Sunday. The cabinet comprised of three female ministers and another fourth one serving in advisory position.

They are as follows:

1) Mr. Efisio Kon Uguak, Deputy Governor and Minister for Local Government
2) Miss Theresa Anyuat Bola, Minister for Social Welfare
3) Juliet Raphael, Minister for Infrastructure
4) Monica Luis Mawein, Minister for Gender Affairs
5) Dr. Isaac Cleto Hassan, Minister of Health
6) Dr. Adil Athanasio Surrur, Minister of Education, Science and Technology
7) Mr. Baptist Sabit Frances, Minister of Information and Communication
8) Mr. Wol Akec Akol, Minister of Agriculture
9) Mrs. Mary Karlino Madut, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, and
10) Mr. Mowlana John Peter Miskin, Minister of Legal Affairs


1) Mr. Kamil Wana Urac, Advisor for Political Affairs
2) Mr. Andrea Richard Bola, Advisor for Security Affairs
3) Mr. Salah Salim Ismail, Advisor for Education Affairs
4) Mrs. Monica Louis Madut, Advisor for Gender Affairs
5) Mr. Angelo Taban Biajo, Advisor for Local Government Affairs and
6) Mr. Peter Lau Madhieu, Advisor for Economic Affairs.

In his remark during the swearing in ceremony, the newly appointed Deputy Governor and the Minister for Local Government, Col. Efisio Kon Uguak, appealed to the people of Western Bahr el Ghazal state to take secession option in the 2011 Southern Sudan referendum.