Brussels, 28 January 2004 5676/04 (Presse 33) P 15/04

Declaration by the Presidency on behalf of the European Union, the Acceding Countries, the Candidate Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates and the EFTA countries members of the European Economic Area, concerning the imposition of an embargo on arms, munitions and military equipment on Sudan

The Acceding Countries Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, the Slovak Republic and Slovenia, the Candidate Countries Bulgaria and Romania, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Serbia and Montenegro, and the EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, declare that they share the objectives of Common Position 2004/31/CFSP of 9 January 2004 concerning the imposition of an embargo on arms, munitions and military equipment on Sudan.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to that Common Position.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

Internet: http://ue.eu.int/
E-mail: press.office@consilium.eu.int